You're Invited 


Saturday June 10, 2017
Time: 10:30am -12:30pm Brunch
Place: Spring Brook Country Club,
9 Spring Brook Road, Morristown, NJ 07960

Calling all Nursing Alumni! The Rutgers School of Nursing Alumni Association (RSONAA) will host its Annual Nursing Alumni Meeting on Saturday, June 10, 2017 bringing together the Distinguished Rutgers Nurses across the state.

Please join us as we provide members and newcomers with a snapshot of this past year’s activities and our vision for the future of the Rutgers Nursing community.

Event Agenda:

$25 will be the cost of attendance for alumni and guests. We will be providing the venue with a head count so please RSVP your attendance and that of a fellow graduate by Thursday, June 2nd to 

Keynote Speaker and Awards Presentation

RSONAA President's Award Winner and Key Notes:

Susan HassmillerDr. Susan Hassmiller 

Dr. Hassmiller is the Senior Nursing Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and will be the featured keynote speaker. Dr. Hassmiller will be awarded the inaugural RSONAA President's Award for all of her work and significant accomplishments benefiting Rutgers University and its students. 


2017- 2019 RSONAA Officers and Committee Slate Candidates 

Maryanne Maura, DNPPresident: Maryanne Maura, DNP
Dr. Marra received her Doctor in Nursing Practice Degree from Rutgers University in 2014. Dr. Marra has clinical background in Maternal Child Health as a staff nurse in Pediatrics, Pediatric Intensive Care, Labor and Delivery and Pre-natal care. She has worked as a nurse manager, and director of nursing. Dr. Marra has served as Chief Nursing Officer at several acute care facilities in New Jersey and New York for the past 12 years.


Shanda Johnson, PhDVice President: Shanda Johnson, PhD
Dr. Johnson earned her Bachelor of Science, a Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees from Rutgers University, School of Nursing. Dr. Johnson is a Board Certified Advanced Practice Nurse, specializing in family practice and emergency medicine.Dr. Johnson has consistently and enthusiastically given back to the Rutgers community via many avenues. She served as a Developmental Specialist, acting Director of the Education Opportunity Fund (EOF) Program, and a graduate research assistant. Dr. Johnson also serves as not only a preceptor, but also a mentor to graduate nursing students. 


Amita Avadhani, DNPSecretary: Amita Avadhani, DNP
Dr. Avadhani is a graduate and current full time faculty member, and past faculty senator at Rutgers University, School of Nursing. Dr. Avadhani has extensive experience in organizing committee activities as well as record keeping through her work with NJSNA region III as a Secretary, FNAP as Education co-chair, and National Indian Nurses Association as a Chair of the Education Committee, member of the conference committee with National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties (NONPF). Dr. Avadhani is heavily involved in Sigma Theta Tau International’s Alpha Tau and looks to help facilitate additional synergy between the two organizations. 


Cheryl PantiniCommittee Chair of Events: Cheryl Pantini
Ms. Pantini originally beginning her career as an elementary school teacher, the call and passion for nursing brought her to the School of Nursing. While enrolled she created numerous community service projects geared towards children in low-income housing communities. She remained an active influencer within campus life serving as Student Body President of the 2nd Degree Program and as a Peer Mentor.  Upon completion of her degree she received the Student Leadership Award at the 2016 Convocation ceremony. 


Returning Alumni for a Second Term for 2017 - 2019


Treasurer: Gale Gage, PhD
Committee Chair of Student & Alumni Engagement: Eleni Pellazgu, MSN

A special Thank You for our Nominating Committee for the for the hard work, dedication and organization:

We hope to  see you soon!







© 2018 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.
DonateJoin Our Mailing ListEmployment OpportunitiesWebsite Feedback