Dean Holzemer

The Dean’s Desk | Thoughts from Rutgers Nursing Leadership

Rutgers School of Nursing Alumni… Excellence at its Best!

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

William L. Holzemer, RN, PhD, FAAN
Rutgers University School of Nursing

On Thursday, October 27th the Rutgers School of Nursing Alumni Association (RSONAA) will host their Annual Awards and Scholarship Reception in the Metropolitan Room of the Newark Club from 6:30pm to 10:30 pm. Please join RSONAA and myself as we honor and award distinguished nursing alumni and students, as well as celebrate Rutgers University’s 250th Anniversary!


Presented to Susan B. Hassmiller, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Senior Advisor for Nursing, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. This award recognizes individuals, groups and/or organizations who contribute to the welfare and improvement of the Rutgers School of Nursing and/or the Rutgers School of Nursing Alumni Association. Dr. Hassmiller has demonstrated excellence in leadership tackling significant challenges leading to solutions that advance health and enhance the mission of the Rutgers School of Nursing programs and services for students.


2016 Outstanding Alumni Award: Dr. Cheryl A. Krause-Parello, Ph.D., '07
Associate Professor at the University of Colorado and Founding Director of an outstanding initiative dedicated to improving veteran’s health through funded research, dissemination of best practices, and increased access to care, Canines Providing Assistance to Wounded Warriors (C-P.A.W.W).

2016 Rising Star Alumni Award: Ms. Adriana L. Castaño, MS ‘12
Advanced Nurse Practitioner at Atlantic NeuroSurgical Specialists and active researcher. As an Adult Care Nurse Practitioner, Adriana has expanded her expertise into an operating room and was the drive behind the initiation of peri-operative bundle for neurosurgical patients, which lead to a decrease in surgical site infections.


Fenalson Award Endowed Scholarship: Shaakira Abdul Razzzaq and Joyce Hertzog
Elizabeth Fenalson had been a long time faculty member at the legacy Rutgers College of Nursing. Upon her death, she generously set up an endowed scholarship account for graduate student scholarships. The RSONAA receives scholarship applications and selects deserving students from a vast pool. This year each scholarship winner will receive $4,000 to be used during 2016-2017’s academic year.

Caruso Family Scholarship: Shine Kannampilly, Nikhila Manchikanti, and Kelly Van Wyck
Judith Caruso, the current President to the RSONAA, established this Caruso Family Scholarship after the passing of her father-in-law. The family wanted to honor nursing students as they believed that it was excellent nurses that supported their family member’s quality of life.
Each of these three students will receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Scarpa Memorial Scholarship: Kaitlin Schadt
Ray Scarpa, the current Vice president of the RSONAA, established the Scarpa Memorial Scholarship following the passing of his father. This scholarship hopes to further, recognize and support nursing education for compassionate nursing students. This undergraduate student recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

RSONAA Scholarship Award: Terry Bustos and Molly Naft
The annual alumni scholarship is open to undergraduate and graduate nursing students who exemplify the ideals and virtues of a distinguished Rutgers nurse while maintaining academic excellence. Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

This evening is a time to truly celebrate nursing excellence at Rutgers as well as to reconnect and meet new alumni. The profits from this event go directly to raise funds for additional student scholarships.


© 2019 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.
DonateJoin Our Mailing ListEmployment OpportunitiesWebsite Feedback